Year 10 Pupils win Design Museum award

Thursday 23 February 2012

A team of pupils from Walworth Academy, Southwark, have won this year’s Design Museum Design Ventura award, for their game Slick Shooter.

Ali Esayed, Jason Campbell, Olutobi Lawal and Trevan Gibbs, from Walworth Academy.

The youngsters will receive a £1000 bursary along with a five-day programme of workshops from professional designers, and will see their product sold in the Design Museum Shop.

Slick Shooter is inspired by the traditional tiddlywinks game and is a product that can be assembled from a piece of plastic the size of an Oyster Card.

Sebastian Conran, who awarded the pupils their prize, says, ‘On the face of it Slick Shooter may look like a tiddlywinks hybrid, but it is really the sophistication of the gameplay, rules and playground league where the design thinking is evident.’

Lawal, Campbell and Esayed enjoying the game.

The Walworth Academy pupils saw off projects by more than 1000 students from 32 London state schools to win the prize.

Design Ventura is a three-year education initiative run by the Design Museum for 14-to-16-year-olds, which challenges pupils to fulfil a brief, problem-solve and pitch ideas professionally.